M. C. Taylor Scholarship

Established in 1995, the Marie Clarke Taylor Scholarship Fund is designated for Minority Women in Science (MWIS).  The scholarship is named in honor of Dr. Taylor as an acknowledgement of her tremendous contributions to the development of the Botany program at Howard.  The Department of Botany was the only department that offered a program in microbiology, prior to the establishment of a degree program in the medical school in the late 1960’s at Howard.  Dr. Taylor was the first Chair of Botany and she maintained that position until her retirement.  She was also responsible for guiding the plans for the construction of the Earnest E. Just Building.  Dr. Taylor was the first woman to receive a Ph.D. from Fordham University.